GETTING TO BELGRADE

 

By Plane

Belgrade Nikola Tesla International Airport (www.beg.aero) is the second busiest airport in Europe. Located 12km away from Belgrade city in the Surčin Municipality, Serbia, the airport opened in 1962. Previously known as Belgrade International Airport, it was renamed in the honor of Nikola Tesla, a Serbian scientist, in 2006.

Nikola Tesla Airport is connected via regular routes to nearly 40 destinations worldwide.

Carriers:

  • Aeroflot - www.aeroflot.org
  • Aerosvit - www.aerosvit.com
  • Air France - www.airfrance.rs
  • Alitalia - www.alitalia.com
  • Austrian Airlines - www.aua.com
  • Aviogenex - www.aviogenex.com
  • British Airways - www.british-airways.com
  • Czech Airlines - www.csa.cz
  • Emirates - www.emirates.com
  • Lufthansa - www.lufthansa.com
  • Malev - www.malev.com
  • Montenegro Airlines - www.montenegroairlines.com
  • Olympic Airlines - www.olympicairlines.com
  • Qantas Airways - www.qantas.com.au
  • Qatar Airways - www.qatarairways.com
  • Swiss International - www.swissair.com
  • Tunisair - www.tunisair.com
  • Turkish Airlines - www.thy.com

 

Low cost carriers:

  • Air Berlin - www.airberlin.com
  • Cimber Air - www.cimber.dk
  • Germanwings - www.germanwings.com
  • Norwegian Air Shuttle - www.norwegian.no
  • Wind Jet - w2.volawindjet.it
  • Wizz Air - www.wizzair.com

 

By Train

Belgrade Central Railway Station is centrally located and offers a well-developed network of railways that connects Serbia’s capital with all the main cities of Europe, by daily, as well as overnight trains.
Remember to check if you can get commercial discounts such as: Inter Rail, Euro Domino, Rail plus, Balkan Flexipass, Easy Travel Card, Euro 26, City Star and the Unified Balkans Tariff.
Serbian Railways www.zeleznicesrbije.com

By Coach

Belgrade is well served by coaches and they are the cheapest mean of transportation within the city and all towns in Serbia. Belgrade is connected by bus to almost every European. Regular bus lines connect Belgrade with all parts of Serbia meanwhile international bus lines operate to all Belgrade’s surrounding areas and most European countries. The two major coach stations are located one next the other, in the city center, near the Central Railway Station. Tickets can be purchased at the main bus station (Glavna autobuska stanica).

Belgrade Bus Station www.bas.rs

By Car

If you prefer driving yourself to and around the city during your vacation in Belgrade you can drive your own car or rent one.

Foreign drivers in Serbia to have a valid international driving license and an international insurance, which can also be bought at the border.
The two main international roads going through Belgrade are the E-70 and the E-75. They are in relatively good conditions but you will have to pay on several pay tolls to Belgrade. Meanwhile local roads may lack of sufficient road signs so it is better to bring always a detailed map with you. Speed limits are in accordance with international standards (e.g. on a highway the maximum speed is 120km/hour) and the alcohol limit is 0.5 ml.

Distance from Belgrade to the main European cities:

  • Amsterdam: 1760 km
  • Athens: 1090 km
  • Vienna: 621 km
  • Berlin: 1489 km
  • Budapest: 383 km
  • Istanbul: 928 km
  • Copenhagen: 2018 km
  • London: 2073 km
  • Munich: 1020 km
  • Moscow: 2211 km
  • Oslo: 2577 km
  • Prague: 901 km
  • Rome: 1280 km
  • Stockholm: 2622 km

By Boat

Belgrade is par excellence the city of rivers: the Danube and the Sava. It is an important waterway connecting Western and Central European to the countries of south-eastern and eastern Europe. Beograd Harbor on the Danube is an essential travel and transport hub in Central Europe, at the intersection of two pan-European transport corridors.

The number of tourists arriving to Belgrade by boat is constantly increasing, as well as the number Danube cruises to Belgrade.

Usually sailing is possible from March 1 to December 25.

Beograd Harbor - www.port-bgd.co.rs

Useful links:

·       www.dunav-info.org

·       www.danube-river.org